Icon Painting

Finally Rosemary talked me into joining their icon writing group one Saturday a month at the cathedral. I have never done anything like it and did not expect to like it very much at first — very slow and meticulous work. But I discovered that it is fascinating! I was lucky as Jan gave me one of his prepared boards so I did not have to go through all the work in preparing the board myself but could get started with sanding it right away. We have a number of books that all explain the process slightly differently. For my first one I decided to use acrylics. I will just try to find out as much as I can and try it out.

I found only one other page that shows a step-by-step icon writing at the Lamp of Beauty (you see her last step of gilding here, earlier steps go back in her blog). A number of descriptions for egg tempera are also online. Seeing lots of examples of work in progress helps me a lot. My progress with the icon will be posted here.

Icon Painting

Leave a Reply

